Day 128

I’m still struggling with Daylight Savings Time. I’m usually up at 7:00 and have breakfast ready for the kids by 8:00 so we can start school at 9:00.  This morning, I didn’t get up until 8:00, so it threw everything off.  We ended up getting started by 9:30, but it was lunch before I knew it!  Ugh. Maybe I’ll be better by next week. Right now, I’m using “Fun Friday” as my motivation for pushing through everything we need to get done this week, because the history project and the science project involve my favorite – FOOD!

Wednesdays have historically been quick for me, as they mostly involve independent work for the kids.

N (age 11):

  • Math: N began with her mental math and more measurement conversions. She despises measurement conversions. The lesson introduced using cross multiplication to see if fractions are equal.  She picked it up quickly and moved on to her lesson review.
  • Spelling: N practiced her words using the vowel pairs “ea” and “ee,” and the vowel digraph “ea.”
  • Writing: N has to send a copy of her descriptive paper to a friend who’s never seen the inside of our house before to see if her friend can draw a floor plan based on her descriptive paper.  She spent today putting the finishing touches on the paper.
  • Reading: N read three more chapters of I am Malala.
  • Bible: After reviewing the memory verse and the first five books of the Bible, I read Genesis 2 to N and C, and we discussed the details of the creation of Adam and Eve.
  • Science: N and C copied definitions of words related to the structure of the earth.
  • History: N and C learned about the power struggles between the Babylonians and the Assyrians, and how that struggle finally came to a stop with the rise of Cyrus. They studied the Persian Empire and the reign of Cyrus. They located the Persian Empire on a map and highlighted the bodies of water and the proximity to Greece. N did additional reading and note-taking on the Persian Empire.
  • Spanish: N did her workbook activities for her lesson.
  • Music: The usual.

C (age 9):

  • Math: C began by practicing her 3 and 8 times tables.  Her lesson introduced her to locating points on a coordinate plane.  After she put up a little resistance to always listing the horizontal coordinate before the vertical one (I explained that I don’t know why it is, it just is), she picked up on the concept.  She completed a worksheet of 100 division problems and a lesson review sheet.
  • Spelling: C practiced her words identifying vowels in one- and two-syllable words.  I’ll review it again with her tomorrow and probably give her an assessment on Monday or Tuesday.
  • Writing: C began researching the layout of our living room in order to write a descriptive paragraph about it.
  • Reading: C read another chapter of Moby Dick(abridged).
  • Bible: Combined class with N.
  • Science: Combined class with N.
  • History: Combined class with N. C didn’t do the supplemental reading and notes.
  • Music: C identified and practiced her three chords on the ukulele.  The lesson book came today in the mail.  I’m excited about it.  It teaches music theory and notation along with the chords in a fun, easy way.  It’s colorful and full of songs that she can sing while she plays the ukulele.  I’m excited to get started on it!

S (age 6):

  • Math: S practiced counting to 100 by 1s and 10s. Then, we played store (which the kids love and I do not love) to practice paying for items up to 10 cents and to practice ordinal positions to the fourth.
  • Reading: S did her usual worksheet from The Measured Mom for review of the letter M. We sang the alphabet song together, and S pointed out the letter N on our alphabet chart. I read her a poem about a nanny goat, and S located all the capital Ns in the poem. She colored a picture of a capital N with some goats. We practiced making compound words together. For example, I said “foot” and she said “ball.” Finally, I read her another chapter of Charlotte’s Web.
  • Writing: S copied the capital letter N on a custom worksheet.
  • Bible: S practiced her abridged memory verse and the first five books of the Bible. I read her Genesis 2 and we discussed it.

Published by

Homeschool Daily

I was an education major in college, but I hated teaching. And then I started homeschooling. Good days, bad days, I love them all! It's a great adventure with my favorite people in the whole world.

Leave a comment