Day 116

Yesterday just didn’t pan out.  Every plan I had went awry.  It was just one of those days that didn’t work.  For my sanity, I called the day a wash after attempting a couple of classes.  We’ll make the day up on Saturday.  Now, for the record, I would typically take this week off because of our “Sabbath Schooling” schedule.  But, it’s been so dreary out since Sunday that the kids are at each other’s throats with the slightest provocation, and I’m currently motivated to start summer vacation early.  So, school it is!

N (age 11):

  • Math: N did her mental math and a worksheet on simplifying fractions.  Then, we studied liquid capacity.  This, admittedly, has always been a bit of a tough concept for her, even when we used hands-on methods. I think it will have to just be something she memorizes. Then, she completed her lesson review.
  • Reading: N read another chapter of I am Malala.
  • Spelling: N completed a review of the previous five lessons.  Tomorrow, she’ll begin work on a new lesson.
  • Writing: N wrote the introduction to her descriptive paper about our house.  It contained information such as where it is situated, when it was built, how many rooms it has, how many people live in it, etc.
  • History: N and C studied the re-emergence of the Assyrian Empire under Asherbanipal. They located the Assyrian Empire and its capitol on a map. N did supplemental reading on the Assyrian Empire and took notes.
  • Science: N and C learned about the ocean floor and how it expands, the tides, ocean currents, and waves.
  • Geography: After filling in the countries they already know on their Middle East maps, N and C learned about Azerbaijan.
  • Social Studies: The girls reviewed the first six amendments.  I stressed the importance of knowing their rights, because not knowing their rights could make it easier for someone to take them away. I’ll continue to review the amendments even after we’ve finished our study on the Bill of Rights to ensure that the girls have memorized them. I told them about the Seventh Amendment and we talked about why it’s important.
  • Logic: N learned about generalizations, and about weak generalizations versus strong generalizations. Then, I gave N hypothetical scenarios to help her identify generalizations from facts.
  • Music: The usual.

C (age 9):

  • Math: C did a division worksheet and practiced measuring distance on a map using a scale. Then, she learned about telling time using minutes to the hour (e.g. “quarter of …,” “five minutes to …,” etc.). She finished up her math class by completing a lesson review worksheet.
  • Reading: C read another chapter of Moby Dick (abridged).
  • Spelling: C practiced her one- and two-syllable words.  I’ll give her one more day of practice before the next assessment.
  • History: Combined class.  C didn’t do the supplemental reading and notes.
  • Science: Combined class.
  • Geography: Another combined class.
  • Social Studies: Yet another combined class.
  • Music: The usual.

S (age 6):

  • Math: I played store with S again.  All the items were priced between 1 and 10 cents.  I gave her ten pennies, and she bought as many items as she could before she ran out of money.  Then, she organized the items from the most expensive to the least expensive.  I saw some improvement in number recognition.
  • Reading: S began by reviewing the letter D using one of the printables from The Measured Mom. Then, we sang the alphabet song and she picked out the letter E on the alphabet poster. I read her a short poem about elephants with flappy ears and eyes as big as eggs who begged for peanuts. Next, she played Memory with 8 pairs of rhyming pictures.  This time, I turned the pictures upside-down so that she had to remember the rhyme and its location. Finally, I read her the next chapter of Charlotte’s Web.
  • Writing: S practiced writing capital E on one of the custom worksheets I made for her from Worksheetworks.com.

Published by

Homeschool Daily

I was an education major in college, but I hated teaching. And then I started homeschooling. Good days, bad days, I love them all! It's a great adventure with my favorite people in the whole world.

Leave a comment