Schedule and Curriculum (S)

S recently turned 8 years old. I strongly suspect dyslexia, but I haven’t had her officially tested. I don’t want her to be labeled as such. So, I did a lot of research and have been working hard to get her reading and number recognition well-established.

Her weekly schedule follows:

Monday – Math, Spelling, Grammar, Handwriting, Reading, Bible (with N and C), Biology and Botany, History (with C), and Ukulele.

Tuesday – Math, Spelling, Grammar, Handwriting, Reading, Bible (with N and C), Biology and Botany, History (with C), and Ukulele.

Wednesday – Math, Spelling, Grammar, Handwriting, Reading, Bible (with N and C), Biology and Botany, History (with C), and Ukulele.

Thursday – Library, Art (with H), and Ukulele.

Friday – Math, Spelling, Grammar, Handwriting, Reading, Bible (with N and C), History (with C), and Ukulele.

S is starting to venture into a longer school day with more subjects. At her current reading level, independent work is still a little tricky, so I’ll be spending more instructional time with her than with N or C. Here is the curricula we are using:

Math – S will continue to use Saxon Math Homeschool. She will finish up level 1 and start on level 2.

Spelling – S will start spelling this year with Spelling Workout A. I may need to rethink spelling curriculum later in light of her suspected dyslexia, but I’m going to play it by ear for now.

Grammar – S will continue using First Language Lessons for the Well-Trained Mind. She will also continue her poetry memorization. She’s anxious to begin learning Latin, but I told her she has to get through the current textbook before we move on to Visual Latin.

Handwriting – S will continue copywork on handwriting sheets I custom design at the Writing Wizard website.

Reading – This year, S will continue with All About Reading Level 1. She will also continue working through the Dick and Jane Reading Collection, which she enjoys very much.

Bible – S will begin Bible class with N and C using Foundations 2 homeschool curriculum by Anne Elliott. Memory verses are included in the curriculum.

Science: N will study biology and botany this year. I don’t currently have any set curriculum. The plan is to learn about a new animal of interest to her every week during the fall, and then spend the spring learning about people and plants. I’ll list my resources weekly.

History: S will join C in going through Story of the World Volume 3: Early Modern. She’ll do the mapwork that goes along with her study, and will do some activities as well. I will try to work in some videos on the topics that are covered.

Art: S will work on basic drawing skills using the Usborne Step-by-Step Drawing Book. I tried working through Mark Kistler’s Draw Squad with her (I love that book!!!!), but it was a bit too advanced and she got frustrated easily with it.

Music: S has decided to pursue the ukulele, so she will start working in Alfred’s Kids Ukulele Course Complete.

Published by

Homeschool Daily

I was an education major in college, but I hated teaching. And then I started homeschooling. Good days, bad days, I love them all! It's a great adventure with my favorite people in the whole world.

Leave a Reply

