Day 91

Starting off slow this semester to continue the never-ending “tweaking” of our schedule and curriculum. I also want to get back on track from where we got overly busy in the fall (like start up Spanish again and re-work writing class to be a bit more interesting for N and C). I’ll elaborate more as I go through our day.

N (age 12):

Math: N started this semester with an assessment. I used it more as a review to bring her math-rusty mind back up to speed. There were a few concepts that needed some work after our three weeks away. I’ve also decided to make a change to her lesson review. Seriously, it’s like pulling teeth to get her to complete a lesson review after a whole day of school. She rarely completed the lesson review. So, I’ve decided to do away with them for now, just occasionally taking some problems from them to review during class. That way, I can keep on eye on where she struggles while not adding to an interpersonal struggle between the two of us to get things done. If she starts bombing her assessments and forgetting everything she learns, I’ll reinstate the lesson reviews. She’s pretty motivated right now to avoid their reinstatement, so we’ll see how it goes.

Reading: N  is still working on finishing up Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. Over the break, I began reading N and C The Giver (one of my favorites, as I enjoy dystopian novels/movies).

Spelling: N is working on words with the prefixes “sub-,” “mid-“, “bi-,” and “tri-.”

Bible: N and C reviewed their memory verses (2 Timothy 3:16-17, Exodus 20:1-17, Psalm 1:1-6, and Psalm 23:1-5) and the books of the Bible. They learned about Kings Jeroboam and Rehoboam, and the civil war in Israel that divided the kingdom.

History: N and C began learning about the Crusades. They learned that only one of the crusades was successful in Jerusalem and that the crusaders successfully ousted the Moors from most of Spain.

Geography: N and C filled in all the countries they know so far in South America, Central America, the Middle East, Southeast Asia, and Europe by way of review.

Science: N and C learned about comets. We talked about the Hale Bopp Comet and Haley’s Comet. Unfortunately, it was too cloudy for us to see the comet over New Year’s weekend. Being the on-top-of-things homeschooling mom that I am, I noticed today that this science unit will be done next week. I hopped online to order curriculum and materials for middle school Chemistry. I will be using Noeo Chemistry from Logos Press (which happens to be on sale as we speak). I learned about Noeo science classes from a FB homeschooling page. I’d tried several science programs with varying degrees of success, but I found it hard to “wing it” and put together my own curriculum. I settled on Noeo when I began a physics unit with the older two last year. I like it because it’s a wonderful mix of Charlotte Mason (lots of hands on and literature use) and classical teaching methods. Unlike my previous 50% success rate with experiments, Noeo’s materials and experiments were mostly successful and a whole lot more organized than mine had been. I went on to use their elementary biology curriculum last year. Unfortunately, they don’t cover Geology or Astronomy. I used ClassiQuest Science for those two subjects. While I liked ClassiQuest much better than trying to put together a piecemeal curriculum, I found it a little dry and I had to purchase extra materials.

Music: C continued practicing her scales. She started a new lesson.

C (age 10):

Math: C warmed up with mental math. Today’s lesson was a review of basic long division before we dive in to this semester. She did well. She learns differently than I do (she’s decidedly right-brained), but she remembers concepts once she’s learned them.

Reading: C read a chapter of On the Banks of Plum Creek. I continued reading N and C The Giver.

Spelling: C continued to work on her words using “y” as a vowel.

Bible: Combined class with N.

History: Combined class with N.

Geography: Combined class with N.

Science: Combined class with N.

Music: C continued working on her chord transitions , playing individual notes, and reading music. She also began drumming lessons with her father (who is an amazing drummer).

S (age 7):

Math: S counted to 100 by 1s, 5s, and 10s using her hundred number chart. She counted backwards from 30. She recited the days of the week and the months of the year. S began with an assessment for review, just like N did. She needs a bit of work on recognizing numbers above ten, but that is and will continue to be ongoing.

Grammar: S will start back on grammar next week.

Reading: S continued her unit in All About Reading. S learned about words that can have more than one meaning (such as tag, cap, and bat). She played a matching game that encouraged recognition of the different meanings of words. I began reading S and H Amelia Bedelia Means Business to reinforce the concept of words and phrases having more than one meaning, and the concept of figures of speech.

Writing: S copied words and the days of the week using a custom worksheet from HandwritingPractice.Net.

H (age 5):

I’m giving H a little more of a vacation before starting back on a regular schedule. for now, I give her lots of practice during the day with letter and number recognition, reading, and copying work that I do on the board with the older girls.

Published by

Homeschool Daily

I was an education major in college, but I hated teaching. And then I started homeschooling. Good days, bad days, I love them all! It's a great adventure with my favorite people in the whole world.

Leave a Reply

