Day 29

I like to make sure that my kids have a well-rounded education. One of the things I love about homeschooling is that I can cover topics from a variety of viewpoints, not worrying about toeing the line of some government-approved curriculum without much wiggle room. N, C, and I have been having some great discussions about differing beliefs and worldviews that shape the way people view academic studies. I wanted to continue along those lines, so I made some adjustments to their day today. Because I can. Because homeschool.

N (age 11):

Spelling: N practiced her words with the prefixes fore-, post-, over-, co-, com-, and con-.

Reading: N read a chapter of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I read N and C The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles last night.

Science/Social Studies: N and C watched “Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed.” Then, we discussed the importance of academic freedom (the main reason I chose to homeschool) and unbiased scientific inquiry.

Music: N practiced her scales (G major and C major) and her current lesson.

Community Sports: Soccer practice today!

C (age 10):

Spelling: C practiced her words with the consonant blends sp, tr, pl, and nd.

Reading: C read a chapter of Little House on the Prairie. I read N and C The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles last night.

Science/Social Studies: Combined class with N.

Music: C practiced A, B, C, E, and all her chord transitions. She played while reading music. She’s continuing to learn to play songs that coming strumming with playing individual notes.

Community Sports: Soccer practice today!

S (age 7):

Math: S warmed up by counting to 100 by 1s, 5s, and 10s, and by counting backward from 30 to 1. S learned to identify a circle and a square, including identifying the number of sides and angles of square, and the differences and similarities between squares and rectangles. She completed a lesson review.

Grammar: S reviewed “The Caterpillar” and continued working on memorizing “Work.” Today was a lesson on listening comprehension. I read her a story about a girl who didn’t like to take baths, and she repeated the story back to me in her own words. She was in a bit of a hurry to go play (this was the last class of the day), so her synopsis was quite short.

Reading: S and I sang the alphabet song. I showed S a card with the letter “m” and a moon on it. We practiced the /m/ sound. Then, I gave her four cards, three of which had pictures that started with the /m/ sound. She glued the three /m/ cards to a paper with the letter “m” and a moon on it. S solved three riddles whose answers began with the /m/ sound. I read a chapter of Ramona and Her Mother to S and H.

Writing: H practiced writing her name using a custom worksheet I made at HandwritingPractice.Net.

Community Sports: Soccer practice today!

H (age 4):

Math: H warmed up by counting to 20 and singing the “Days of the Week” song. Her lesson was on using counting bears to act out addition and subtraction problems. I love the use of manipulatives because they offer concrete examples of mathematical concepts, but sometimes they distract from the lesson because H wants to play with them.

Reading: H continued to review the vowels for letter recognition and short vowel sounds. We practiced the B and C portion of a phonics poem. I finished reading  Ramona and Her Father to S and H.

Writing: H practiced writing her name using a custom worksheet I made at HandwritingPractice.Net.

Community Sports: Soccer practice today!

 

Published by

Homeschool Daily

I was an education major in college, but I hated teaching. And then I started homeschooling. Good days, bad days, I love them all! It's a great adventure with my favorite people in the whole world.

Leave a Reply

