Day 4

So, apparently, the key to my sanity during art class is a 1:1 or 1:2 student ratio. First, I worked N and S. When they were finished, I worked with C and H. Science class will be happening tonight, so I’ll try to remember to add how it went to tomorrow’s post. We rearranged our schedule to have “Fun Thursday” so that we could accommodate a play date with fellow homeschoolers. As a result, the day’s activities have been spread out, but we managed to get everything done.

N (age 11):

Bible: While N and C did morning chores, they learned about the traditional Jewish priestly garments and the symbolism behind them.

Reading: N read a chapter of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. I read N and C a chapter of The Witch of Blackbird Pond last night.

Art: I decided to use this first art class to teach N and C about one of my favorite artists (Vincent van Gogh) and to practice his art technique (using thick layers of bright paint with lots of swirls and textures). I read them a short overview of van Gogh’s tragic life from Usborne The Children’s Book of Art. Then, N and C practiced his technique from paintings like “The Starry Night” and “Sunflowers” using ideas from The Usborne Art Treasury. I love the simplification of the art techniques using regular household items and school supplies. The application is very doable for even young children.

IMG_1028.JPG

Science: Tonight, N and C will learn how to use a star chart to identify constellations. They will also begin to chart the phases of the moon.

C (age 9):

Bible: Combined class with N during morning chores.

Reading: C read a chapter of Little House in the Big Woods and listened while I read another chapter of The Witch of Blackbird Pond last night.

Art: Combined class with N.

IMG_1030.JPG

Science: Combined class with N tonight.

S (age 7):

Reading: S and H got a break from learning to read (and write) today because of the play date. However, I did still read them a chapter of Beezus and Ramona.

Art: N and C’s lesson was more involved than I cared to be with S and H. Instead of dealing with large paint palettes and texturing tools, I taught S and H how to do a watercolor wash to create a night sky, and how to mix media (in this case, tempera paints) to achieve a different effect.

IMG_1029.JPG

Science: S and H will join us outside, but won’t be learning to read a star chart this year. Instead, they will make observations and invent their own constellations.

H (age 4):

Reading: Combined class with S.

Art: Combined class with S.

IMG_1031.JPG

Science: Combined class with S.

Published by

Homeschool Daily

I was an education major in college, but I hated teaching. And then I started homeschooling. Good days, bad days, I love them all! It's a great adventure with my favorite people in the whole world.

Leave a Reply

