Summer Day 1

After a week off, I’ve started up summer school with the kids. I want to get farther along in our Bible curriculum than I did this past year, I want to make sure the older two continue reading and practicing their instruments, I want to keep moving forward with S in her reading (I think going until August without any reading lessons will undo everything she’s learned so far), and I wanted to start lessons with H (age 4). H will be five in September. Our state laws don’t require formal schooling to begin until age 6, but she has shown readiness and eagerness to begin now.

N (age 11):

  • Bible: Review of all memory verses, books of the Bible, and the twelve tribes of Israel. We read a short, seemingly insignificant passage in Exodus about the Israelites donating materials for the building of the tabernacle. I pointed out that they donated only their best. We compared this to always giving our best to God as well.
  • Reading: N read a chapter of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.
  • Music: N practiced her scales and her lesson.

C (age 9):

  • Bible: Combined class with N. We conduct the class over the breakfast table.
  • Reading: C read a chapter of Little House in the Big Woods.
  • Music: C practiced ukulele with her cousin (who also plays the uke) over FaceTime today.

S (age 6):

  • Flashcard Day!

H (age 4):

  • Reading: H and I sang the alphabet song together. Then, she learned about the letter “A.” I’m using The Ordinary Parent’s Guide to Teaching Reading with her for now. For now, it looks like a good fit for her learning style. We talked about words with the short /a/ sound in them and learned the first part of the “Vowel Poem” laid out in the textbook.
  • Math: H compared and contrasted pattern blocks. She talked about the differences in color and shape, and she sorted the shapes by shape and color. Then, she made some designs with the shapes and told me about them.
  • Writing: H practiced writing capital “A” on the whiteboard, and then she copied capital “A” on a custom worksheet.
Published by

Homeschool Daily

I was an education major in college, but I hated teaching. And then I started homeschooling. Good days, bad days, I love them all! It's a great adventure with my favorite people in the whole world.

Leave a Reply

