Day 171

Second to last week. Kids all around us are getting out of school already, and the girls are getting antsy. I’m trying to think of the things that I need to do over the summer. I’m going to continue classes with S, particularly reading, because she needs so much more repetition in order to make things stick. And I’m going to continue Bible lessons so I can start where I want to be next year. And I’m going to have N and C fill out maps of South America, Central America, the Middle East, and Southeast Asia at least once a week to make sure they don’t forget their geography. I’ll encourage reading on their own. N is anxious to get through the Harry Potter books so she can see all the movies. C showed an interest in the Little House books (some of my favorites from when I was her age!). I had to push Spanish to the back burner for N about eight weeks in because of time constraints, but I think I’ll reintroduce it next year and have her do it as a combined class with C.

N (age 11):

  • Math: N warmed up with a worksheet on linear measurement conversions and some mental math. She had a short lesson on two-step equations. She breezed through it. On to lesson review!
  • Spelling: N had an assessment. She asked if she could be assessed orally instead of writing the words. I told her she should probably write them down so she can visualize the words. She ended up choosing an oral assessment and making two mistakes that she would have most likely caught if she’d done the test on paper. Lesson learned, I hope.
  • Writing: N finished up her observations on a rotting strawberry.
  • Reading: N read a chapter of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.
  • Bible: N and C were introduced to their new memory verse (Exodus 20:12). They reviewed all their verses, recited the books of the Old Testament, recited the books of the New Testament through Colossians, and sang the twelve tribes of Israel song. The girls learned about the ten plagues of Egypt. We discussed the purpose of God continuing to send plagues as opposed to simply making Pharaoh let the Israelites go.
  • Science: N and C began learning about erosion from wind and water.
  • History: N and C learned about the Pax Romana and the origins of Christianity. They mapped the locations of Jesus’ birth and crucifixion. N did supplementary reading and took notes.
  • Logic: N learned about the bandwagon method of propaganda. She then identified “appeal to pity,” “appeal to fear,” and “bandwagon” techniques from examples.
  • Music: N practiced her scales and her song. I’ll teach her a new one tomorrow, because I’m running out of time today.

C (age 9):

  • Math: C warmed up with mental math and a worksheet on subtraction. She practiced drawing fractions in order to move from the concrete to the abstract. She completed a lesson review.
  • Spelling: C did the workbook introduction to her next spelling lesson, which is on different spellings of the long “e” sound.
  • Reading: C read Goddess Girls: Pheme the Gossip for 20 minutes.
  • Bible: Combined class with N.
  • Science: Combined class with N.
  • History: Combined class with N. C didn’t do the supplemental reading or notes.
  • Music: C practiced chord transitions to G7 and the A note.

S (age 6): Flashcard Day! S has also been working her way through Dick and Jane books. It’s helping her to feel like she’s accomplishing something with all of the work she’s been doing with letter recognition.

Published by

Homeschool Daily

I was an education major in college, but I hated teaching. And then I started homeschooling. Good days, bad days, I love them all! It's a great adventure with my favorite people in the whole world.

Leave a Reply

