Day 167

I threw my back out last night in my sleep somehow. And that’s how I learned how much I actually get up and move around while I’m teaching. And how much I actually pick Baby R (age 15 mos.) up and put him down during the day. I spent most of my time in my chair at the computer, tethered to the wall by the plug to my heating pad. I’m going to hit up Google for some stretches to do before bed tonight that will, hopefully, help my back tomorrow.

N (age 9):

  • Math: N didn’t have a worksheet today because her lesson was a bit longer and more complex than usual. She warmed up with some mental math. Her lesson was an algebraic addition activity. She played a game called “Sign Wars” to help solidify addition with positive and negative numbers. She learned about the various “disguises” the numbers take (e.g., a negative number can be written “-(+5),” and a positive number can be written “–2,” etc.). She learned to get the numbers to their most basic form in order to add them together (e.g., “2 + (- 4) + + 2 – – 8” becomes “2-4+2+8” becomes “8”). She’ll need more practice, as the parentheses tend to throw her off a bit, but she did well. She finished a lesson review.
  • Spelling: N practiced her words with vowel digraphs “oi,” “oy,” “ou,” and “ow.”
  • Writing: N picked a strawberry from the garden to observe the changes that take place over the week for her descriptive composition on change. She also began working on the introduction to her composition.
  • Reading: N read a chapter of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.
  • Science: N and C continued to learn about how mountains are formed.
  • Geography: N and C filled out their Middle East maps and then filled out all the countries they know on their Southeast Asia maps. Today, they learned about the only landlocked country in Southeast Asia: Laos. It wasn’t covered in Time for Kids, but we were able to find it on National Geographic Kids (my second choice for geography studies; the only issue is that they limit the number of views per month unless you pay for a subscription).
  • Social Studies: Since N and C are now doing a weekly research project on the states, I decided to use a method that I always hated using when I was a kid, but one that builds useful skills: the group project. I had them sit down together to decide how to divide up the work and when to work together to share information. There was some bickering, with C wanting to work ahead and N wanting to procrastinate, but they got it figured out to some extent.
  • Music: N finally feels that she’s mastered the song she’s been working on for weeks now. Next week, I’ll move her on to the next lesson.

C (age 9):

  • Math: C did mental math and a worksheet on subtraction to warm up. Her lesson was a quick review of lines, line segments, rays, and angles. She got through the lesson quickly and completed a lesson review.
  • Spelling: C practiced her words with different spellings of the long “o” and long “u” sounds.
  • Writing: C read Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day and listed the actions in sequential order.
  • Science: Combined class with N.
  • Geography: Combined class with N.
  • Social Studies: Combined class with N.
  • Music: C worked on her chord transitions and the A note. She still needs a bit more practice with transitioning to G7.

S (age 6):

  • Math: S used the 100-number chart to count to 100 by 10s and 1s. She counted backwards from 10 to 1. The lesson involved playing cards. I showed her how to deal the cards, introducing her to the concept of dividing by sharing. We played War, helping her with number recognition and comparing numbers through ten.
  • Reading: S reviewed the letter “g” with a printout from The Measured Mom. S and I sang the alphabet song. She located the lowercase “i” on the alphabet poster. While she colored a picture of an itchy cat, I read her three short poems, emphasizing the short and long “i” sounds as I read. We played a game called “Get Out of the Wagon.” She compared groups of three picture cards, two of which began with the same sound, and discarded the picture that didn’t begin with the same sound.I read her more of Anne of Green Gables. I find that I need to test her listening comprehension on this book a bit.
  • Writing: S practiced writing the letter “i” on a custom worksheet.
Published by

Homeschool Daily

I was an education major in college, but I hated teaching. And then I started homeschooling. Good days, bad days, I love them all! It's a great adventure with my favorite people in the whole world.

Leave a Reply

