Day 142

   
There I am, waking up from oral surgery. I managed to get combined classes and one-on-one instructional time done for the oldest two before I left for surgery this morning. Unfortunately, I didn’t have time to get S done, so I’ll have to make up her work on Saturday. N and C also got a list of independent work for while I was gone. Did they do it? I don’t know. I’ll find out tomorrow, when they’ll finish up anything they didn’t get done today.

N (age 11):

  • Math: We skipped mental math and went straight into the lesson to save time. N learned a mnemonic device to remember the order of operations (“Please Excuse My Dear Aunt Sally”) and learned how to work with expanded notation using exponents. I assigned a worksheet on liquid measurement conversions and a lesson review.
  • Spelling: I told C to help N review her words containing the vowel digraphs “au” and “aw.”
  • Reading: N read a chapter of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.
  • Bible: N and C reviewed their memory verses and recited the books of the Bible through Daniel. I’ll double up on the lesson tomorrow.
  • History: N and C learned about the life and death of Alexander the Great. They mapped out his empire. N did supplemental reading and took notes.
  • Science: N and C learned about volcanoes: the types, the causes, the effects of eruptions.
  • Spanish: I told N to watch the next DVD lesson.
  • Music: The usual.

C (age 9):

  • Math: C really enjoys mental math, so we hurried through it. Her lesson was on adding lining up place values to do addition problems. I forgot to give her a worksheet, but I told her to finish a lesson review.
  • Spelling: I told N to help her practice her words with different spellings of the long “a” sound.
  • Writing: C continued to work on the writing assignment from yesterday.
  • Reading: C began reading Goddess Girls: Pheme the Gossip.
  • Bible: Combined class with N.
  • History: Combined class with N. C didn’t do any supplemental reading or notes.
  • Science: Combined class with N.
  • Music: C practiced everything she knows so far.
Published by

Homeschool Daily

I was an education major in college, but I hated teaching. And then I started homeschooling. Good days, bad days, I love them all! It's a great adventure with my favorite people in the whole world.

Leave a Reply

