Day 137

School went quickly and the girls were very motivated. I love days that go so smoothly!  And then, I was off to the dentist and out of commission for the rest of the day.  I don’t do the dentist well.

N (age 11):

  • Math: N did a worksheet converting liquid measurements and then tackled some mental math.  Her lesson was about estimating square roots.  She enjoyed it and finished pretty quickly.  But, of course, she put off doing her lesson review because I wasn’t there to enforce its completion.
  • Spelling: C gave N her spelling assessment while I got ready to go to the dentist.
  • Writing: N and I discussed using the first, second, and third person narrative voices, and I stressed the importance of using the same voice throughout any compositions.
  • Reading: N finished up I am Malala.
  • Bible: N and C were introduced to Abram and Sarai.  We discussed the social environments of that time.  They began to learn this week’s memory verse (Exodus 20:4) and discussed its meaning.  They also continued learning the books of the Bible through Song of Solomon.
  • History: N and C filled in portions of their map of Ancient Greece from memory.  I read them a myth of Zeus and how his actions led to the Trojan War. N did supplemental reading about Ancient Greece and took notes.
  • Logic: N learned how to differentiate between an weak analogy, a strong analogy, and a poetic analogy. She practiced identifying analogies.
  • Spanish: We reviewed all the vocabulary N has learned so far in Spanish.
  • Music: N did the usual practice.

C (age 9):

  • Math: C did mental math to start off class. For her lesson, she used money manipulatives to identify place value through the 100’s place. She finished a lesson review.
  • Spelling: C didn’t want N to give her an assessment, so I quizzed her on her words while she loaded the dishwasher.
  • Reading: C continued reading Moby Dick (abridged).
  • Bible: Combined class with N.
  • History: Combined class with N. C didn’t do the supplemental reading or notes.
  • Latin: C reviewed the vocabulary for this week.
  • Music: C practiced her chords and worked on her strumming technique.

S (age 6): The recovery from the dentist made it impossible for me to get to S’s school today, so she’ll make it up on Saturday.

Published by

Homeschool Daily

I was an education major in college, but I hated teaching. And then I started homeschooling. Good days, bad days, I love them all! It's a great adventure with my favorite people in the whole world.

Leave a Reply

