Day 123

The virus is still hanging on, but I think at least part of the reason for the lethargy today is the drizzly weather and the fact that the kids have become accustomed to lounging around. I’ve given them until Friday to complete this week’s independent work. I got them together for combined classes, then gave them individual instruction time, and finally sent them off with their independent work.

N (age 11):

  • Math: I didn’t bother with mental math today. I just wanted to get the lesson done so that N could move on to independent work.  Her lesson was on converting units of measurement in arithmetic problems (e.g. adding feet and inches together, etc.). She began work on her 30-problem lesson review.
  • Spelling: I quickly quizzed her on her “ai,” “ay,” “oa,” and “ow” words. I’ll probably wait until next week for her assessment, because she still seems a bit foggy-brained from being sick.
  • Writing: N is still working on her descriptive paper about our home.  As I said before, she needs to have all but the conclusion completed by Friday.
  • Reading: N read another chapter of I am Malala.
  • Science: N and C copied definitions of words relating to glaciers and icebergs, along with their Greek and Latin derivatives.
  • History: N and C learned about the Mycenaeans and the Dark Age of Greece.  They located major cities in Greece on a map and illustrated the paths the the Sea People and other “barbarians” took to attack the Mycenaean Empire. N did supplement reading and note-taking on the Mycenaeans.
  • Music: The usual.

C (age 9):

  • Math: I skipped the usual times tables review and story problem today for the same reason I skipped N’s mental math.  C’s lesson was on order of operations and simplification of problems containing addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division.  Diagramming the problem so she could visualize it helped her right brain to understand the concept.  It took a few tries, but she grasped the concept and started working on a problem sheet of 100 division problems and a lesson review sheet.
  • Spelling: C wanted to review her hard and soft C and G words once more before her assessment.
  • Writing: C is still working on organizing her lists. I’m going to require her to finish them up by tomorrow.
  • Reading: C read another chapter of Moby Dick (abridged).
  • Science: Combined class with N.
  • History: Combined class with N. C didn’t do any supplement reading or notes.
  • Music: The usual.

S (age 6):

  • Math: S and I counted to 100 using her 100-number chart to help in number recognition. Then, S made and identified shapes she made on her geoboard using geobands.
  • Reading: S started by reviewing the letter I on her worksheet from The Measured Mom (can you tell I love this website?!). We sang the alphabet song together, and S found the letter J on our alphabet poster.  I read S a poem about the letter J. S located all the Js in the poem. S colored a picture of a capital letter J with some jackrabbits. I read some selections to her, replacing some obvious words with nonsense rhyming words (e.g. “nook” instead of “book,” “curl” instead of “girl”) and had her tell me the correct word.  She got a bit annoyed with this exercise. Finally, I read her another chapter of Charlotte’s Web.
  • Writing: S practiced writing a capital J and her name on a custom worksheet.
Published by

Homeschool Daily

I was an education major in college, but I hated teaching. And then I started homeschooling. Good days, bad days, I love them all! It's a great adventure with my favorite people in the whole world.

Leave a Reply

