Day 122

And the chest cold lingers on.  My kids who usually live on about two minutes of sleep per night are spending their days drifting in and out of sleep.  I gathered them together right after breakfast to do combined classes, and then I sent them off to bed with a list of independent work to try to finish.

N (age 11):

  • Math: N did a quick lesson on bisecting lines and bisecting angles.  It took all of five minutes.  She’s been working on finishing up her assessment that was assigned on Monday.
  • Spelling: I quickly ran through N’s words this week (the words with “ai,” “ay,” “oa,” and “ow”).
  • Writing: N is continuing to work on her description of our house.  I’m hoping to work on the conclusion by Thursday.
  • Reading: N read another chapter of I am Malala.
  • Science: N and C were introduced to glaciers: how they’re formed, how they move, how they calve.  Then, we found several videos of icebergs being calved from glaciers.  It was so exciting that S (age 6) and H (age 4) showed up to watch.
  • Geography: After N and C filled out all the countries they already know on their Middle East maps, they learned about Pakistan.  N interjected often with information she’d gleaned from I am Malala, including the shocking assassination of Benazir Bhutto.
  • Social Studies: N and C took turns naming the first seven amendments.  Then, I introduced the Eighth Amendment.  We discussed bail and hypothetical punishments that could be considered cruel and unusual. N again brought up I am Malala, and we talked about how the “punishments” inflicted by the Taliban would not be legal here in the United States.
  • Spanish: We’re taking a break this week to review, and let N fully recover and get caught up with her other independent work.
  • Music: The usual.

C (age 9):

  • Math: C had an assessment, which was added to a couple worksheets for her to continue independently.
  • Spelling: C practiced her words with hard and soft  C and G sounds.  I think she’ll be ready for an assessment tomorrow.
  • Writing: C is still working on the independent work assigned to her on Monday. I’m hoping to move on to the next lesson Thursday. Of course, it all depends on how long the kids are sick.
  • Reading: C read another chapter of Moby Dick (abridged).
  • Science: Combined class with N.
  • Geography: Combined class with N.
  • Social Studies: Combined class with N.
  • Latin: We’re taking it easy and just reviewing some vocabulary this week.  I will probably start up her Visual Latin lessons again next week.
  • Music: The usual.

S (age 6):

  • Math: S practiced identifying and sorting colored shapes (squares, triangles, rectangles, and circles) by several properties.
  • Reading: S did her review worksheet of the letter H courtesy of The Measured Mom.  We sang the alphabet song together and S pointed out the letter I. I read S a poem about inchworms, and S pointed out all the I’s in the poem. S colored a picture of the letter I surrounded by inchworms. We played a rhyming game: I would say a word, and she would have to say a word that rhymed. It was a little tricky for her today, especially finding a rhyme for the word “car.” I read S a chapter of Charlotte’s Web. She’s getting very discouraged about not being able to read very well yet.  I explained to her that her brain learns differently than other people’s brains, but that she is doing very well and will be able to read if she keeps practicing.
  • Writing: S copied a custom worksheet of capital I.
Published by

Homeschool Daily

I was an education major in college, but I hated teaching. And then I started homeschooling. Good days, bad days, I love them all! It's a great adventure with my favorite people in the whole world.

Leave a Reply

