Day 114

It was an average day, with a couple “You’re the worst mom ever” comments thrown in because I made N do her math lesson review. I laughed pretty hard at that one, so I don’t think it had the intended effect.

N (age 11):

  • Math: N did her mental math and a worksheet on converting measurements.  Then, she learned how to infer information from story problems. She was a bit distracted throughout the lesson and had a hard time grasping the concept until I drew a chart to demonstrate it.  She’s planning on spreading her lesson review out over the weekend.  We’ll see how that goes, because history tells me that it will not go well.
  • Spelling: N practiced her words ending in the “l” sound spelled with “al,” “el,” and “le.” I think she’ll be ready for an assessment on Monday or Tuesday.
  • Reading: N read another two chapters of I am Malala.  She was shocked at how quickly what little freedom the women had was taken away.
  • Science: N and C researched Andronicus’ Wind Tower, Sir Francis Beaufort, and Clement Wragge. They wrote their findings.
  • Geography: N and C filled out the countries they already know on their Middle East maps, and then they learned about Armenia.  Apparently, the CIA has a website to teach kids about geography.  Who knew? Anyway, that’s where I got my information on Armenia today.
  • Spanish: N did her workbook for her weekly lesson.
  • Music: The usual.

C (age 9):

  • Math: C had an assessment today, and she did a 30-problem division worksheet. She does well, but she sometimes hurries through the problems and doesn’t pay attention to the operations she needs to perform.
  • Spelling: C continued to practice her one and two syllable words.  I think she’ll be ready for an assessment on Monday.
  • Reading: C read another chapter of Moby Dick. Today, she said, “Did you know Moby Dick is the name of the whale, not the missing captain?”  Yes.  Yes, I did.
  • Science: Combined class with N.
  • Geography: Combined class with N.
  • Music: The usual.

S (age 6):

  • Math: I set up a pretend store for S, with items that cost 1-10 cents.  S practiced number recognition and counting pennies.  For the record, I really don’t enjoy playing store for the math class, but it’s effective and the kids enjoy it.  So, I do it occasionally.
  • Reading: After S colored in her review sheet for C (the one that has pictures that she can color that begin with C), we sang the alphabet song together.  Then, I had her point out D on the alphabet chart.  I read her a poem about messy dogs, and she pointed out all the capital Ds in the poem.  She colored a picture of a capital D with some dogs and bones and a bowl of dog food. Next, we played a rhyming game.  I place 12 cards on the floor and she picked the rhyming words.  She still struggles a little with the difference between rhyming words and words that begin with the same sound.  I’m glad this curriculum stresses it.  And I’m glad that the classes are fast paced from activity to activity.  She’s not getting bored.  I continued reading Charlotte’s Web to her.
  • Writing: S copied a sheet of capital Ds.
Published by

Homeschool Daily

I was an education major in college, but I hated teaching. And then I started homeschooling. Good days, bad days, I love them all! It's a great adventure with my favorite people in the whole world.

Leave a Reply

