Day 107

It snowed.  Which means that the attention span was minuscule. I don’t know how I can be expected to compete with frozen flakes falling from the sky. Since we’re still all recovering from The Great Stomach Bug of 2016, I’m still taking it pretty easy on the kids.

N (age 11):

  • Math: After mental math and a 100-problem worksheet of addition and subtraction problems, N continued to expand on her growing knowledge of fractions by learning how to multiply three or more fractions.  The concept wasn’t radically new, so she was able to grasp it fairly quickly.  It’s now 8:34 pm and she’s only halfway through her 30-problem lesson review, however.  Because snow.
  • Spelling: N continued to practice her “kn,” “gn,” “rr,” and “wr” words.  She keeps getting stuck on the endings of “foreign” and campaign,” not because of the “gn” but because of the order of the “ei” and “ai.” I had her write the words several times today.
  • Writing: N and I discussed the meaning of a bird’s eye view as it pertains to describing the layout of our house.  N will spend tomorrow sketching our house so that she can begin to write an accurate description of it later this week.
  • Reading: N read another chapter of Nothing’s Fair in Fifth Grade.
  • Science: Coincidentally, the science lesson today was about snow and other forms of precipitation.  The kids learned about the formation of drizzle, rain, sleet, hail, dry snow, and wet snow.  They also learned about what causes flooding and about cloud seeding. They began to memorize the nine different types of clouds. They also continued to record high and low daily temperatures, barometric pressure, relative humidity, and atmospheric conditions.
  • Geography: N and C filled out the countries they have learned so far on their Middle Eastern maps, and then they were introduced to the United Arab Emirates. I read them some articles about life in Abu Dhabi, and we were able to find some photos of the UAE online.
  • Social Studies: The kids reviewed the first four amendments.  We then discussed the Fifth Amendment and why it’s important.
  • Music: The usual.

C (age 9):

  • Math: C had an assessment today. Then I spent the rest of her math time reviewing the concepts she struggled with on her assessment.
  • Spelling: C continued to practice words with the prefixes un- and re-. I felt that she was ready for an assessment today, but she didn’t feel as confident.  She’ll probably have her assessment in the next day or so.
  • Writing: C continued writing an introduction for her friend.  Today’s sentences focused on skin, hair, and eye color.
  • Reading: C read another chapter of Moby Dick (abridged).
  • Science: Combined class, so see N’s description.
  • Geography: Combined class.  C did everything N did, and also completed maps of South America and Central America as a review.  I think I will cut back to once a week review of South and Central America after this week.  She seems to have them pretty well memorized.
  • Social Studies: Combined class with N.
  • Music: The usual.

S (age 6): I really feel at a loss for S as far as reading goes.  She’s frustrated.  I’m frustrated.  So, we focused on some fun, hands on math activities in between working on her reading lesson.  After I finished teaching her, I did some research on the Orton-Gillingham method of teaching struggling readers.  I suspect she may be dyslexic (my husband is). Phonemes are key, apparently.  Reading Eggs uses this method, but S has gotten frustrated with it and won’t use it anymore.  I feel like I’m back to the drawing board.  Tomorrow, I will begin a new teaching method for reading and will begin looking into some different curriculum that uses the Orton-Gillingham method.

Published by

Homeschool Daily

I was an education major in college, but I hated teaching. And then I started homeschooling. Good days, bad days, I love them all! It's a great adventure with my favorite people in the whole world.

Leave a Reply

