First Things First

Let me start off by saying that I use the Classical style of homeschooling, with a bit of Charlotte Mason thrown in.  That means I follow the Trivium, which is three basic stages of learning development:

  1. The Grammar Stage (K-4th grade): After setting a solid base in reading, writing, and math, I throw everything and the kitchen sink at the kids.  Their minds are basically sponges at this stage, so I provide them with as much information as possible in as many different formats as possible.
  2. The Logic Stage (5th-8th grade): The kids begin to connect all the facts that they have learned during the Grammar Stage and discover the relationships between them.
  3. The Rhetoric Stage (9th-12th grade): The kids learn to express themselves with fluency, grace, elegance, and persuasiveness.

I currently have two in the Grammar Stage and one just starting the Logic Stage.

Secondly, let me tell you about the curriculum I’m using.  I use The Well-Trained Mind as a guidebook for curriculum and methodology, because I agree with the educational philosophy it lays out.

N is 11 and would be a fifth-grader in a brick-and-mortar school.  Her curriculum follows:

C is 9 and would be a third-grader in a brick-and-mortar school.  Her curriculum follows:

S is 6 and would be a Kindergartener in a brick-and-mortar school.  Her curriculum follows:

The kids also have accounts at http://DIY.org, which is sort of like Boy Scouts/Girl Scouts without the meetings or politics.  It gives them opportunities to do projects that are of interest to them and to earn badges in the process.

The next post will tell about my daily, weekly, and yearly schedules, which continue to be tweaked even after six years of homeschooling.

Published by

Homeschool Daily

I was an education major in college, but I hated teaching. And then I started homeschooling. Good days, bad days, I love them all! It's a great adventure with my favorite people in the whole world.

Leave a Reply

